You can now log into a Company File without having to enter a username and password every time! Instead, as long as you are using the same Windows user account, you only have to log in with your username and password once every few days, and can open the Company File or switch to another Company File without having to re-enter your login credentials.

You will be required to enter your username and password again only if you have explicitly logged off from the Company File or when the login period set has expired.

Note: This login feature is not available if your file is on a hosted environment that uses roaming profiles.

A few things to consider:

As the Administrator of the Company File, carefully evaluate the use of these options and points:

  • When multiple users are accessing the same Company File on the same computer, one user has to explicitly logoff before another user can login. If a user accidentally doesn’t logoff, another user can access the Company File without having to enter their username and password, as long as they are using the same Windows user account. In these multi-user scenarios, we recommend the Admin does not enable this option or requires users to log in using separate Windows user accounts.
  • This option is NOT available when Credit Card Protection is enabled for the Company File. If you have Credit Card information stored in the Company File and do NOT have Credit Card Protection manually enabled, we recommend that the Admin user DOES NOT enable this option.
  • This option only works for .QBW and .QBA files.
  • Only Company Files in local (i.e., not hosted) environments can take advantage of this feature.
  • Your QuickBooks Desktop (Pro, Premier, or Enterprise) must be at least on the following releases to enable this option:
    • 2018 R7
    • 2017 R10
    • 2016 R14
  • Users selecting this new option must safeguard their computers and Windows accounts in order to ensure that their Company Files are protected. We also recommend that you use a screen timeout with a lock screen to ensure that access to the computer is controlled. For more details on protecting your computer, go to security.intuit.com.

Change your login settings

This login option is not on by default and must be set in your login settings or company preferences. Only the Company File's Administrator can enable the option, but it applies to all users of the Company File. The Admin chooses how long users can remain logged in with a maximum of 90 days (default is 2 days).

Note: Once this option is enabled, go to File > Close Company only closes the Company File but not log off the user.

To get to this preference setting:

  • QuickBooks Pro and Premier
    • Go to Company > Set Up Users and Passwords > Manage Login Settings
    • Or, go to Edit > Preferences > General > Company Preferences
  • QuickBooks Enterprise
    • Go to Company > Users > Manage Login Settings
    • Or, go to Edit > Preferences > General > Company Preferences

Notes for all users:

  • This option will not work for Company Files copied from one computer to another. You will be required to enter your username and password on the destination computer to log in.
  • A user logging in with a Windows user account will be required to enter a username and password to log in.
  • When multiple users are accessing the same Company File on the same computer, a user has to explicitly log off before another user can log in. If a user accidentally does not log off, another user can access the Company File without having to enter a username and password, as long as they are using the same Windows user account.
  • If a login fails under any circumstance (e.g. wrong password, Admin changed the password, password reset, logged in period has expired), a user must enter a username and password. Any previously saved credentials will be deleted.
  • If a user has saved credentials for a Company File user in QuickBooks File Manager (QFM), opening the Company File from QFM will delete credentials from the Windows Vault. A user can continue opening the Company File from QFM but will be required to enter a username and password if opening the Company File directly.

Notes for the Admin user:

  • The Admin will have to update to QuickBooks Desktop 2018 R7, 2017 R10 or 2016 R14 if they want to disable this option for users who have already updated.
  • When the Admin disables this option from the Company Preferences, any credentials saved previously for all users will be deleted or forgotten. Users will be required to enter a username and password on next login.
  • In a multi-user setting, when the Admin changes this Company Preference, all non-admin users will be logged out.
  • If the Admin enables Credit Card Protection, any credentials saved previously for all users will be deleted or forgotten. Users will be required to enter their username and password on next login. Also, the Admin will not be able to access this Company Preference anymore.
  • The Admin can delete all credentials at any time from the Windows Control Panel > Windows Vault. Credentials for QuickBooks start with prefix “Intuit_QBDT”.