In QuickBooks Online, you can easily merge accounts, customers, or suppliers. This is helpful if you want to have a single representation in your Chart of Accounts or in your financial reports.

Warning: The merging process is not reversible. It is permanent and cannot be undone at a later point.

Merge accounts

Account limitations

Some accounts cannot be changed or cannot be merged into an existing account because of their Type. The Uncategorized Asset is one example of this kind of account. If a user, who has Online Banking, tries to change the Type to a different one, this warning will appear: "Please correct the following errors: You can't change the type of this account because it is reserved for the Online Banking feature."

There are other accounts that you cannot delete or merge because they are needed by the system. They are as follows:

  • Open Balance Equity
  • Retained Earnings
  • Undeposited Funds
  • Uncategorized Income
  • Uncategorized Expense
  • TDS Payable
  • TDS Receivable
  • Default Service Tax accounts
  • Default GST/VAT accounts
  • Default PAYG/PAYE accounts
  • Default CST accounts
  • Default Service Income account
  • Default tax accounts created when a Custom Tax Agency is created
Note: If one of the accounts you are merging has a symbol in the name, an error message will appear during the process. Remove the symbol and retry merging.

Merging accounts with reconciliation reports

If you are merging bank accounts that have reconciliation reports, the reports will be deleted from the account that has been merged but the reconcile status (R) will remain on the merged transactions.

To avoid data loss, we highly recommend saving reconciled reports before merging.

To merge two accounts:

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, choose Chart of Accounts.

  3. Go to the account you want to keep and select Edit from the drop-down in the ACTION column.
  4. Take note of the Name and Detail Type, and check if the Is sub-account option is marked. If it is marked, remember the parent account associated.
  5. Select Cancel to return to the Chart of Accounts.
  6. Go to the account which you don't want to use, and select Edit from the drop-down in the ACTION column.
  7. Change the Name and Detail Type, and mark Is sub-account as appropriate. Remember the following regarding the Is sub-account option:
    • You won't be able to merge parent accounts that has existing sub-accounts.
    • If you are merging sub-accounts, make sure they are associated with the same parent account.
    • If only one is a sub-account, make it a parent account by deselecting the Is sub-account option.
  8. Select Save, then choose Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two accounts.
Note:
  • The "losing" account will continue to show "Deleted" until QuickBooks Online's nightly check of data integrity removes them. We can't say how long this process takes, as this depends on the company data saved in the cloud.
  • When merging customers and suppliers, all the information from the "losing" name will disappear. Make sure you copy all the important information over to the name you're going to keep.

Merge customers

Here's how to merge customers:

  1. From the left menu, select Sales, and select Customers.

  2. Select the name of the customer you don’t want to use, then select Edit. (Note: Make sure that the customers you want to merge are at the same level. You can mark the Is sub-customer box as appropriate.)
  3. Change the Title, First name, Middle name, Last name, and Suffix to make it identical to the customer you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same.
  4. Select Save, then select Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two customers.

Merge suppliers

Here's how to merge suppliers:

  1. Select Expenses and then Suppliers.

  2. Select the name of the supplier you don't want to use, then select Edit.
  3. Change the Title, First name, Middle name, Last name, and Suffix to make it identical to the supplier you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same.
  4. Select Save, then select Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two suppliers.

Now you're able to merge accounts, customers and suppliers.