In QuickBooks Online, you can add, edit or deactivate contractors in either the Workers or Expenses menu. Any changes made from any one of the menus will reflect on both pages. This keeps your contractor information up-to-date.

Add a contractor from the workers or expenses menu

Here's how to add your contractors from the Workers or Expenses menu and invite them to enter their 1099 tax info.

From the Workers menu

  1. Select Workers and then Contractors.
  2. Select Add a contractor.

  3. Enter the contractor's Name.
  4. (Optional) Enter the contractor's Email if you have checked the box that invites a contractor to add their own 1099 tax info.
  5. Select Add a contractor.

  6. Select Add.
  7. Choose whether the contractor is an individual or a business, then enter their information.
  8. Select Save.

From the Expenses menu

  1. Select Expenses and then Suppliers.

  2. Select New supplier.
  3. Enter the information needed, then check the box for Track payments for 1099.
  4. Select Save.

Edit a contractor from the worker or expenses menu

Contractor information must be up to date. Here's how to edit their information from the Worker or Expenses menu.

From the Workers menu

  1. From the left menu select Workers then Contractors.

  2. Choose a contractor from the list.

  3. Select the Personal details section.
  4. Edit the information you want to change.
  5. Select Save.

From the Expenses menu

  1. Select Expenses and then Suppliers.

  2. Choose a supplier from the list.
  3. Select Edit.

  4. Edit the information you want to change.
  5. Select Save.

Make a contractor inactive from the worker or expenses menu

Here's how to make a contractor inactive from the Worker or Expenses menu.

From the Workers menu

  1. Select Workers and then Contractors.
  2. Choose a contractor from the list.

  3. Select the drop-down menu under the contractor's name and select Mark as inactive.

From the Expenses menu

  1. Select Expenses and then Suppliers.

  2. Choose a supplier from the list.

  3. Select Edit.

  4. Select Make inactive.
  5. Select Yes.