Client notes have been improved to allow firm users to easily create, view, and manage notes about clients from the Client Notes tab.

View or add client notes

To view client notes or add a new note:

  1. From the left menu, under Your Practice, select Clients.
  2. Select the name of the client from the Client List.
  3. Select the Notes tab.
  4. Enter your note text in the Add a note field.
  5. Select Save.

Once you have created a note, it can be edited, pinned, or deleted directly from the note itself.

Pin a note

You can keep important notes visible and available for easy access using the Pins section of the Notes tab.

When you pin a note, a copy of the note appears in the Pins section. If you delete the copy in the Pins section, the original note is also deleted.

To pin a note:

  1. From the left menu, under Your Practice, select Clients.
  2. Select the name of the client from the Client List.
  3. Select the Notes tab.
  4. Select the note to be pinned to display the available note options.
  5. Select the pushpin icon. The icon turns green and the note appears in the Pins section of the page.

To unpin the note, simply select the pushpin icon again.

Warning Do not select the trashcan icon to remove a pinned note from the Pins section. Both the pin and the original note will be deleted.

Edit a note

You can edit the content of a note to correct or update the information.

Note The author name, date, and time displayed on notes show the last time the note was modified, not created, and by whom, so when you edit a note, the author, date, and time that appear on the note are also updated.

To edit an existing note:

  1. From the left menu, under Your Practice, select Clients.
  2. Select the name of the client from the Client List.
  3. Select the Notes tab.
  4. Select the note to be edited to display the available note options./li>
  5. Select the pencil icon to open the note for editing
  6. Make your changes to the text of the note.
  7. Select Save.

You can't revert to an earlier version of a note to restore information you've edited. You must re-enter edited information manually.

Delete a note

When a note is no longer needed, you can delete it to clear it from the Notes tab.

To delete a note:

  1. From the left menu, under Your Practice, select Clients.
  2. Select the name of the client from the Client List.
  3. Select the Notes tab.
  4. Select the note to be deleted to display the available note options.
  5. Select the trashcan icon to display the Delete sub-options.
  6. Select Delete.
Warning Once a note is deleted, it cannot be restored. You must re-enter a deleted note manually.