QuickBooks Online Accountant lets you and your team access and work together inside your clients' company file.

Here are the 4 workflows to help you manage users within your Team.

  • Add a user
  • Edit a user
  • Make a user inactive
  • Reactivate an inactive employee

Add a user

Here's how to add a user on the Team page.

  1. From the left menu, select Team under the Your Practice section.
  2. Select Add User.
  3. Enter first and last name and email of new user.
  4. Add title (optional), then select Next.
  5. Select desired access for your firm administration and your firm's books, then Next.
  6. Specify which clients your employee should have access to, then select Save.

Edit a user

Here's how to edit a user on the Team page:

  1. From the left menu, select Team under the Your Practice section.
  2. Select the user you want to edit.
  3. Make the desired changes on the User Profile, Firm Administration and Books, and Client Access tabs. 
  4. Select Save.

Make a user inactive

Here's how to make a user inactive on the Team page:

  1. From the left menu, select Team under the Your Practice section.
  2. Select the user you want to deactivate.
  3. On the Status column, select Inactive from the drop-down.
  4. Select Save.
Note:
  • You can only deactivate users, not delete them.
  • You cannot edit information for a pending invited user (including making them inactive) until they've accepted your invitation to QBOA.

Make a lead accountant inactive

In the case that you are making a lead accountant inactive, you will be prompted to assign a new lead for the clients for which the inactivated user is the lead:

  1. Select the drop-down next to the client company's name and select a new team lead.
  2. Once every client has a newly assigned team lead, select Assign. (Note: If the former Lead Accountant is also the Master Administrator, that role will also be transferred to the new lead.

Reactivate an inactive employee

Here's how to reactivate an inactive user on the Team page:

  1. From the left menu, select Team under the Your Practice section.
  2. Go to the list settings gear next to the printer icon and select Include inactive.
  3. Select the inactive user from the list.
  4. From the Status drop-down, select Active.
  5. Save your changes.

Cheers!  You've learned how to add, edit, deactivate, and reactivate a user on QBOA Team page.