When you make changes to a team member's access within your firm, QuickBooks Online Accountant will notify the affected user of these changes automatically.

Which users get notified automatically?

A user will receive a notification based on the action taken regarding their access. The following is a list of scenarios where user notifications would be automatically generated as a result of access action taken:

  • Access to client has been removed.
  • Access to client has been granted.
  • Team member is made inactive.
  • Lead access is transferred.

 

Access to client has been removed

If a team member's access to a client has been revoked, the team member will receive a "Your client access has changed" email notification. The notification email will contain a Removed access section.

What you should know about the Removed access section:

  • For situations where a user has had their access to multiple clients revoked the Removed access section can display up to 16 clients.
  • If a user has had their access revoked for more than 16 clients, only a listing of 16 clients will appear in the email. However, there will be a notice in the email alerting the user that their access to additional clients was also revoked. The user can choose to click the link within the email to see the list of additional clients for which their access was revoked.

 

Access to client has been granted

If a team member's access to a client has been granted, the team member will receive a "Your client access has changed" email notification. This email will contain a Granted access section.

What you should know about the Granted access section:

  • In situations where a user is granted access to multiple clients the Granted access section will be able to display up to 16 clients.
  •  If a user had access granted to more than 16 clients, only 16 clients will appear in the email. However, in the email there will be a notice alerting the user to additional clients for which access was granted. The user can choose to click the link within the email to see a list of additional clients for which access was granted.
Note: For more information on client access, check out How to manage client access for firm team member.

 

Team member is made inactive

If a team member is inactivated, the team member will receive an email notification informing them that they will no longer have access to the firm.

Note: For more information on making a team member active or inactive check out How to manage users in QuickBooks Online Accountant.

 

Lead access is transferred

If the Lead Accountant is changed to a new team member, an email notification will be sent to both the former Lead and new Lead to inform them of the change. The Master Administrator of the affected client company will also receive a notification of the change.

Note: For more information on the Lead Accountant, see Assign a lead accountant.

 

You now know which users get notified when access changes are made.