Do you need to add, delete, or change a user's access?

You must be a Master administrator or Company administrator to add, delete, or change a user's access. For directions on how to transfer the role of Master administrator, check out how to transfer the role of Master administrator.

How to add a new user

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. In the upper right, select Add user.
  4. Select which type of user you like them to be, then follow the corresponding steps below.

Standard user

  1. At the bottom right, select Next.
  2. Select the appropriate access right you like them to have, then Next.
  3. Set the users settings, then Next.
  4. Enter the new user's profile, then select Save.

Company admin

  1. At the bottom right, select Next.
  2. Enter the new user's profile information, then Save.

Reports only (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only)

  1. At the bottom right, select Next.
  2. Enter the new user's profile information, then select Save.

Time tracking only (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only)

  1. At the bottom right, select Next.
  2. Select the name of the employee or supplier you're inviting to fill out their timesheet, or Add New for a new user.
  3. Enter the new user's profile, then select Save.

The new user receives an email after you add them. Ask them to read the email and select Let's go!

Note:
  • Users must open the link in the email in a web browser. They won't be able to accept the invitation from the mobile app.
  • The invitation expires if not accepted within 2 to 5 days, including weekends.

After selecting Let's go!, the user needs to do the following:

  • If they already have a QuickBooks Online user ID and password, they can use it to sign in.
  • If not, they can create their user ID and password.

If a new user doesn't receive the invitation email, see Invited Users did not receive the email invitation for QuickBooks Online.

Note:
  • Time tracking, Reports only, and Take payments only users don't count toward the company's total number of users.
  • QuickBooks Online Essentials only has access to Standard users and Company admin, and QuickBooks Online Simple Start only has a Master Administrator user.

How to delete a user

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.


  3. Find the name of the user you want to delete. From the Action drop-down, choose Delete.
  4. Select Delete again to confirm. You will receive an email confirming the deletion.
Note: The history for deleted users remains in the activity log.

 

How to change a user's access rights

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. Find the name of the user you want to edit. From the Action drop-down, choose Edit.
  4. From the User type drop-down, select the type of access you like this user to have.
  5. At the bottom right, select Save.
  6. Ask the user to sign out, then sign back in to see the change in access rights.
Note: You can't downgrade an Admin, Reports only, or Standard user to Time tracking only. If you need to limit a user's access to Time tracking only, delete them from the account and add them back as a Time tracking only user.

 

How to change a user's name or email in the manage users list

Note that this doesn't change the name or email address associated with their user ID.

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. Find the name of the user whose name and email you want to change. From the Action drop-down, choose Edit.
  4. Update the name and/or email as necessary, then select Save.
  5. Ask the user to sign out, then sign back in to see the changes.

For more information on adding or removing an accountant user, see How to add or remove an accountant user.