Do you need to add, delete or change a user's access?

You must be a Master Administrator or a Company Administrator to add, delete, or change a user's access. For directions on how to transfer the role of Master Administrator, check out how to transfer the Master Administrator role.

How to add a new user

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. Select Add user in the upper right.
  4. Select which type of user you'd like them to be and follow the corresponding steps.

How to add a regular or custom user:

  1. Select Next at the bottom right.
  2. Select access rights you'd like them to have, then select Next.
  3. Set the users settings, then select Next.
  4. Enter the new user's profile, then select Save.


How to add a company administrator:

Select Next at the bottom right, then enter the new user's profile information, then select Save.

How to add a user for reports only (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only):

Select Next at the bottom right, then enter the new user's profile information, then select Save.

How to add a user for time tracking (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only):

  1. Select Next at the bottom right.
  2. Select the name of the Employee or Supplier that you're inviting to fill out their timesheet, or Add New for a new user.
  3. Enter the new user's profile, then select Save.

When you're done, an email will be sent to the new user. Tell them to read the email and select the link that says Click Here.

After they select the Click Here link they will need to do the following:

  • If they already have a QuickBooks Online user ID and password, they can use it.
  • If not, this is where they create their user ID and password. (Note: that the user will not be able to accept this invitation from the mobile app. To accept the invitation, they must open the link in the email in a web browser).
Note: If a new user doesn't receive the invitation email, please see: Invited Users did not receive the email invitation for QuickBooks Online.

 

Note: Time Tracking and Reports Only users don't count toward the company's total number of users. QuickBooks Online Essentials only has access to Regular/Custom users and Company Administrators, and QuickBooks Online Simple Start only has a Master Administrator user.

 

How to delete a user

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.


  3. Find the name of the user you wish to delete. Then, from the Action drop-down, choose Delete.
  4. Confirm you want to delete the user by selecting Delete again.
  5. You will be sent an email confirming the deletion.
Note: The history for deleted users remains in the activity log.

 

How to change a user's access rights

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. Find the name of the user you wish to edit. Then, from the Action drop-down, choose Edit.
  4. Use the drop-down arrow under User type.
  5. Read through the user types and choose the type of access you'd like this user to have.
  6. Select Save at the bottom right.
  7. Have the user sign out and then sign back in to see the change in access rights.
Note: You can't downgrade an Admin, Reports Only, or Custom Access User to Time Tracking Only. If you need to limit a user's access to Time Tracking Only, delete them from the account and add them back as a Time Tracking Only user.

 

How to change a user's name or email in the manage users list

 

Note: This does not change the name or email address associated with their user ID.

 

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.

  2. Under Your Company, select Manage Users.

  3. Find the name of the user whose name and email you're changing. Then, from the Action drop-down, choose Edit.
  4. Update the name/email as necessary, then select Save.
  5. Have the user sign out and then sign back in to see the change in access rights.

 

Now you know how to add, delete, or change a user's access.