Learn how to purge your online data and start over in QuickBooks Online.

Do you want to start over? Wipe your data from your QuickBooks Online file and start with new company data? We'll show you how.

If your company file is more than 30 days old

  • If your QuickBooks company file is more than 30 days old, you'll need to contact us and have the 'purge' feature enabled.
  • You'll then be able to purge any data present in the file. It takes 1-2 working days to have purge enabled. Please plan your activities accordingly.
Warning: Please keep in mind that this process will delete any data that has already been entered into the company. Once the data is deleted it can't be restored or reversed.

If your company file is less than 30 days old

Warning: Please keep in mind that this process will delete any data that has already been entered into the company. Once the data is deleted it can't be restored or reversed.

To complete the process, follow the instructions below:

  1. Log in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany
    Example: URL shows https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage Change to: https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecompany
  3. Hit Enter/Return on the keyboard.
  4. The next screen will provide a summary of the items being deleted. In order to confirm that you understand the data will be deleted you must type in the word Yes and select OK.

Things to know:

  • If the industry you want to use is different than the one showing feel free to change it.
  • Mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry (recommended) or start with an empty chart of accounts.
  • Once your selections are complete, select Wipe Data. When the deletion is complete you will be rerouted to your home page.