Learn how to delete your data in QuickBooks Online and start over with new books.

Sometimes you need to start fresh with a new QuickBooks Online company. If you're a new customer, you can simply start over. If you've used QuickBooks for a while, you need to create a new company.

Start over in QuickBooks Online

Note: Save time by reusing the lists from your old company. Learn how to move your lists to a new company file.

Your next steps depend on how long you've been using QuickBooks.

If your company file is more than 30 days old

  • If your QuickBooks company file is more than 30 days old, contact us to enable the purge feature.
  • You'll then be able to purge any data present in the file. It takes 1-2 working days to have purge enabled. Please plan your activities accordingly.

If your company file is less than 30 days old

Warning: This process will delete all data in the company file. Once you delete, you can’t restore it.

To complete the process, follow the instructions below:

  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany
    Example: Change https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage to https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecomp
  3. Press Enter on your keyboard.
  4. The next screen will provide a summary of the items to delete. Type YES to delete the data, then select OK.

Things to know

  • If the industry you want to use is different than the one showing feel free to change it.
  • Mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry (recommended) or start with an empty chart of accounts.
  • Once your selections are complete, select Wipe Data. When the deletion is complete you will be rerouted to your home page.