Learn how to purge your online data and start over in QuickBooks Online.

Do you want to start over? Purge your data to help you free up space and start over with a new company data. We’ll show you how.

Account has been active for more than 60 days

If your account is active for more than 60 days, you can no longer purge your company data. Instead, you have to cancel your account, then start a new subscription.

Cancel your account

  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online company.
  2. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Account and Settings.
  3. Select the Billing & Subscription tab.
  4. In the QuickBooks section, select Cancel.
  5. Follow the on-screen prompts to complete the process.

Start a new account

  1. Sign up to QuickBooks Online.
  2. Fill in the User ID and password.Note: You can use the same user ID and password you previously had. If you activated payroll in the account, this is the best option for you.

Account active for less than 60 days

This is for QuickBooks Online Plus or Essentials users only. If you use QuickBooks Online Simple Start, you need to cancel your current account and start a new one.

Important: QuickBooks Online Full Service users who cancel and resubscribe are required to take the Full Service payroll onboarding process again.
  • Payroll users: If you run payroll, follow the steps above to cancel and resubscribe your QuickBooks Online account. If not, proceed with the steps below to purge your company file data.
  • QuickBooks Online Accountant Firm users: If you're using QuickBooks Online Accountant, don't follow this process for your firm's QuickBooks. It could cause irreversible damage. Instead, import a blank QuickBooks Desktop company file.

Wipe the data from your QuickBooks Online account

Warning: This process will delete all data in the company file. Once you delete, you can’t restore it.
  1. Log in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany.
    Example: Change URL from https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/homepage to https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/purgecompany
  3. The next screen will provide a summary of the items to delete. Type YES to delete the data, then select OK.
  4. Select Wipe Data.

If your company file is more than 30 days old

  • If your QuickBooks company file is more than 30 days old, contact us to enable the purge feature.
  • You'll then be able to purge any data present in the file. It takes 1-2 working days to have purge enabled. Please plan your activities accordingly.

If your company file is less than 30 days old

Warning: This process will delete all data in the company file. Once you delete, you can’t restore it.

To complete the process, follow the instructions below:

  1. Log in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany
    Example: Change https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage to https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecomp
  3. Press Enter on the keyboard.
  4. The next screen will provide a summary of the items to delete. Type YES to delete the data, then select OK.

Things to know:

  • If the industry you want to use is different than the one showing feel free to change it.
  • Mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry (recommended) or start with an empty chart of accounts.
  • Once your selections are complete, select Wipe Data. When the deletion is complete you will be rerouted to your home page.