In most cases, the way you delete a transaction is the same, no matter what type of transaction it is (invoice, bill, charge, and so on).

Warning: Deleting a transaction can change amounts for prior periods. After you delete a transaction, it can't be recovered or restored. You will need to input new transactions. If you delete transactions that were previously reconciled, the beginning balance of the next reconciliation will be changed. If the deleted transactions are linked to other transactions, the status of the linked transactions may change. The only record of the charge is in the Audit Log. 

To delete a transaction

  1. Find the transaction you want to delete. How?
    1. To find transactions by customer or vendor/supplier name, in the navigation bar, click Customers or Vendors/Suppliers. Then, click a customer or vendor/supplier name to view transactions.

      Tip! In the customer or vendor detail page, click the Filter button to narrow the list by transaction type.

    2. To find a sales transaction, in the navigation bar, click Sales (or Invoicing). Tip! Click a column header to sort the list by type, date, amount, and so on. Or, click the Filter button to narrow the list by transaction type, status, and so on.

    3. To find an expense transaction, in the navigation bar, click Expenses > Expenses. Tip! Click a column header to sort the list by type, date, amount, and so on. Or, click the Filter button to narrow the list by expense type, status, and so on.

    4. Select the transaction to open the form.

  2. From the footer at the bottom, click More.
  3. Click Delete and confirm that you want to delete the transaction.

Note: Time activity transactions are a little different. The Delete command is visible in the footer. You don't have to click More first.