In QuickBooks Online, you can either void or delete invoices, bills, and other transactions.

To void or to delete?

Voiding doesn't remove the transaction. When you void a transaction, you still have a record of it with the same date but zero amount. Voiding is particularly helpful if you need the transaction details for reference. You can always go back to and restore a voided transaction. Voiding is an accounting best practice.

Deleting removes the transaction completely. Consider the following before you delete a transaction. Consulting your accountant never hurts!

  • There is no way to recover or restore deleted transactions. The only record of the change is in the Audit Log.
  • Deleting transactions can change amounts for prior periods.
  • If you delete transactions that were previously reconciled, the next reconciliation beginning balance will change.
  • If the deleted transactions are linked to other transactions, it can cause accounting issues.


    How to void and delete transactions

    1. Find and open the transaction.
    2. Select More, then choose Void or Delete.

      User-added image

      Note: For time activity transactions, you don't have to select More since the Delete button is readily available.

    3. Select Yes to confirm voiding or deleting the transaction.