Want to remove an invoice or a bill or any other transaction but not sure if you should void or delete? This article guides you through the difference between voiding and deleting a transaction and how you should go about it.

To void or to delete?

Voiding does not remove the transaction. When you void a transaction, you still have a record of it with the same date but zero amount. Voiding is particularly helpful if you need the transaction details for reference. You can always go back to and restore a voided transaction.

Deleting removes the transaction completely. You need to carefully take into account the following before you delete a transaction.

  • There is no way to recover or restore deleted transactions. The only record of the change is in the Audit Log.
  • Deleting transactions can change amounts for prior periods.
  • If you delete transactions that were previously reconciled, the next reconciliation beginning balance will change.
  • If the deleted transactions are linked to other transactions, the status of linked transactions may change.

Transactions you can void or delete

You can delete and void bank transfers along with most customer and vendor (or supplier) transactions like invoices, customer payments, expenses, checks (cheques), and refunds. However, some transactions can only be deleted. QuickBooks will not give you the option to void the following:

  • Estimate
  • Delayed credit
  • Delayed charge
  • Bill
  • Bill payments
  • Purchase Orders
  • Vendor Credit
  • Deposit
  • Timesheet
  • Journal entries (you can reverse instead of void)

How to void and delete transactions

  1. Find and open the transaction.
  2. Select More at the bottom of the screen then choose Void or Delete depending on the task you need to perform:

    User-added image

    Note: For time activity transactions, you don't have to select More since the Delete button is readily available.

  3. Select Yes to confirm voiding or deleting the transaction.