If you signed up to try a new way to reconcile in QuickBooks Labs, click here. Otherwise, welcome! You're in the right place to learn about your current options to undo a reconciliation.

If you're connected to an accountant in QuickBooks, your accountant can undo or delete completed reconciliations. But you may not need to undo and lose all your work.

Before you ask your accountant to undo, try these tips

If you're stuck reconciling, it can help to start over but that's pretty drastic. Here are some troubleshooting tips the experts use when they're stuck:

If it makes sense to start over with a reconciliation or undo a completed reconciliation, try one of these options

ClosedWhile reconciling, restart the process of selecting transactions

If the best plan is to start over selecting transactions:

  1. Select the Hide transactions after the statement's end date checkbox on the upper right.
  2. Click the checkbox at the top of both checkbox columns until you remove all the checkmarks.
  3. Check the beginning balance on the statement to make sure it matches what you have in QuickBooks.
  4. If the beginning balance doesn't match, see What if my QuickBooks beginning balance doesn't match my statement?
  5. Double-check the statement info you entered when you started reconciling.
  6. If it isn't correct, click Edit Information from Statement to correct it.
  7. Then start over. Find each transaction on your statement and make sure it matches what you have in your books until the difference equals zero. Learn more about reconciling.
ClosedWhile reconciling, start reconciliation over again

If you find you reconciled against the wrong bank statement, it may be faster to completely unreconcile a session.

  1. Click Cancel. This removes any selection changes you made during the current session.
  2. If you added adjustments during the canceled reconciliation session, find them in your bank register and delete them. Then you're ready to start reconciling again.
ClosedUse the register to undo a reconciliation that you already completed

If you already completed a reconciliation and you need to undo it, you can use the register to unreconcile each transaction that was reconciled.

  1. In the navigation bar, click Transactions > Chart of Accounts (or Accounting > Chart of Accounts depending on what you see).

  2. Select View register for the account you need to unreconcile.
  3. Finding which transactions were reconciled in the most recent reconciliation can be tricky.
  4. Use the Filter icon to filter the transactions for reconciled transactions.
  5. You can also use the Filter icon to filter out any transactions after the statement ending date.
  6. Now you can use your statement as a guide for which transactions to unreconcile.
  7. For each transaction that you need to unreconcile, change its reconciliation status from reconciled (R) to cleared (C) or no status.
  8. When a transaction is marked cleared (C) in the register, it has a checkmark in the reconciliation screen.

  9. When you think all the transactions for the statement are unreconciled, you're ready to start reconciling again.
  10. When you start reconciling again, if you can't find a transaction, check the register to see if the transaction is marked as reconciled. If it is, change its reconciliation status to cleared (C) or no status in register. Then it will appear in the reconciliation window again.