You must be a Master Administrator or a Company Administrator to add a new user, delete a user or change a user's access.

For directions on how to transfer the Master Administrator Role, see Transfer the Master Administrator role.

Add a New User

  1. Choose Gear Icon > Manage Users.
  2. Click the New button on the right.
  3. Select which type of user you'd like them to be and follow the corresponding steps:
    • Regular or custom user and click Next
      1. Select what access rights you'd like them to have, click Next 
      2. Set the users admin rights, click Next.
      3. Enter the new user's e-mail address and name, click Next and then Finish. 
    • Company administrator and click Next:
      1. ​​Enter the new user's e-mail address and name, click Next and then Finish. 
    • Reports only and click Next (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only):
      1. ​​Enter the new user's e-mail address and name, click Next and then Finish. 
    • Time tracking and click Next (Available in QuickBooks Online Plus only):
      1. Select the Employee or Vendor/Supplier name that you're inviting to fill out their timesheet.
      2. Enter the new user's e-mail address and name. Click Next, and then Finish.

When you're done, an e-mail will be sent to the new user. Tell them to read the e-mail, and then click the link that says Click Here. If they already have a QuickBooks Online user ID and password, they can use it. If not, this is where they create their user ID and password. Please note that the user will not be able to accept this invitation from the mobile app. They have to accept the invitation through the email link.

Note: If a new user doesn't receive the invitation email visit Invited Users did not receive the email invitation for QuickBooks Online.

Tip: Time Tracking and Reports Only users do not count toward the company's total number of users. In essence, they are "free" users. QuickBooks Online Essentials only has access to Regular/Custom users and Company Administrator, and QuickBooks Online Simple Start only has a Master Administrator user.

Delete a User

  1. Choose Gear Icon > Manage Users.
  2. Highlight the name of the user you wish to delete.
  3. On the bottom right of that field, click Delete.
  4. You will now get this message: Are you sure you want to delete?
  5. Click Yes

Note: If you delete a user the history in the activity log for the user will remain.

Change a user's access rights

  1. Choose Gear icon > Manage Users.
  2. Highlight the user's name whose access rights you're changing.
  3. On the bottom right, click Edit.
  4. On the top right, click Change.
  5. Read through the user types and select the type of access you'd like this user to have, click Next.
  6. Click Finish when complete.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Have the user sign out and then sign back in to see the change in access rights.

Change a user's name or email in the Manage Users list

Note: This does not change the name or email associated with their User ID.
  1. Choose Gear icon > Manage Users.
  2. Highlight the user's name whose name or email you're changing.
  3. On the bottom right, click Edit.
  4. Update name/email as necessary.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Have the user sign out and then sign back in to see the change in access rights.
See also:
Add or invite an accountant to your company (Canada, France, UK, Australia, US customers only)