Click the link on the element you would like to find out more about merging:

Merging accounts
Merging customers
Merging vendors/suppliers


Merging Accounts

Merging accounts is helpful if you've been using two similar accounts and wish to combine them into a single account.

Important:  The merging process is not reversible. Merging is permanent and cannot be undone at a later point.

  1. Select the Gear icon at the top > Chart of Accounts.
  2. In the Action column, select Edit for the account you are keeping.
  3. Copy the Name, make note of the Detail Type and if the Is Sub-account option is marked. If sub-account is marked, make note of the parent account it is associated with.
  4. Click Cancel to return to the Chart of Accounts.
  5. Go to the account whose name you don't want to use and click Edit in the Action column.
  6. Paste in the Name and make sure the Detail Type matches the account with which you're merging.
  7. If these are sub-accounts, make sure they are associated with the same parent. If only one is a sub-account, make it a parent account by deselecting the Is Sub-account option.
  8. Click Save.
  9. Click Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two accounts.
  10. Note:  The account being merged will remain with a status of "deleted" until QuickBooks Online's nightly processing removes them.  Any transactions in the account being merged will be moved to the remaining account at the time the merge is processed.

Special Considerations:
There are accounts whose Type cannot be changed, or they cannot be merged into an existing account.

  • One example is the Uncategorized Asset account. If a user who has Online Banking tries to change its Type to another type of an account, they will receive the following:
    "Please correct the following errors: You can't change the type of this account because it is reserved for the Online Banking feature."

Since the system needs these accounts, you cannot delete or merge them with other accounts.

Merge should not be attempted for the following accounts:

  • Opening Balance Equity
  • Retained Earnings
  • Undeposited Funds
  • Uncategorized Income
  • Uncategorized Expense
  • Default Service Tax accounts
  • Default GST/VAT accounts
  • Default PAYG/PAYE accounts
  • Default CST accounts
  • Default Service Income account
  • Default tax accounts created when a Custom Tax Agency is created.
  • TDS Payable
  • TDS Receivable

Also, if you're merging two accounts and one has a symbol in the name, you'll get an error. You need to change the account's name to take out the symbol, and then try the merging process again.

If you are merging bank accounts that have reconciliation reports, these reports will be deleted from the account that has been merged. The reconcile status (R) will remain on the merged transactions though.

 


Merging Customers

Merging customers is helpful if you've been using two similar customers and want to see those customers represented by a single line in your reports.

The process of merging deletes one customer and reassigns all its data to another customer.  If you want to merge (and delete) a customer, you must delete the customer's statements first.

Important: The merging process is not reversible. Merging is permanent and cannot be undone at a later point.

  1. Select Sales or Invoicing from the left menu.
  2. Select Customers at the top.
  3. Make sure that the customers you want to merge are at the same sublevel.  If they're not, edit one of the customers so they are at the same level.
  4. Click to select the customer whose name you don't want to use. Note: If you have customer information entered, it will disappear from the name you don't want used. Make sure you copy the information over to the customer's name you're keeping or keep the customer with the important information.
  5. Click Edit at the top right.
  6. Change the customer's Title, First name, Middle name, Last name and Suffix to be the same as the customer you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same as the customer being merged with. Click Save.
  7. Click Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two customers.
 

Merging Vendors/Suppliers

Merging vendors/suppliers is helpful if you've been using two and want to see them represented by a single line in your reports.

The process of merging deletes one vendor/supplier and reassigns all its data to the other.

Important: The merging process is not reversible. Merging is permanent and cannot be undone at a later point.

  1. Select Expenses from the left menu.
  2. Select Vendors/Suppliers at the top.(Or, click the Settings tab, and then click Vendors.)
  3. Make sure that the vendors/suppliers you want to merge are at the same sublevel. If they're not, edit one to make it be at the same level.
  4. Click to select the vendor/supplier whose name you don't want to use. Note: If you have vendor/supplier information entered, it will disappear from the name you don't want used. Make sure you copy the information over to the one you're keeping or keep the one with the important information.
  5. Click Edit.
  6. Change the vendor's/supplier's Title, First name, Middle name, Last name and Suffix to be the same as the one you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same as the one being merged with.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Click Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two vendors/suppliers.
6181