This article covers the steps that you need to follow to access a company file for QuickBooks Desktop that is stored accross the network.

The following items are required before you can open a company file over the network.

  • The folder where the company file is stored must be properly shared.
  • The computers that will access the company file(s) must be set up for multi user mode .
  • You need to have access on the Server or Host computer.
  • All of the computers including the server must be connected on the same network. The server or host computer must be mapped as a network drive to your individual workstations.
  • You need to set up QuickBooks Desktop User Name and Password.
  • QuickBooks Desktop and the QuickBooks Database Manager must be installed on the Host computer to ensure the most reliable connection.

Detailed instructions

Install the QuickBooks Database Manager on the remote computer

  1. On the main computer, download and install QuickBooks.
  2. From the QuickBooks File menu, select Switch to Multi-user Mode.
  3. Click Yes in the Multi-user hosting setup required window.
    Note: QuickBooks Desktop installs and runs QBDBMgrN.exe as a background service. This service must be running on the computer storing the company file even if QuickBooks Desktop is not open.
  4. Click OK on the Multi-user setup information window.
  5. Add the necessary users. For help on adding users, click on How Do I? at the top of the User List window.

Locate and then open the company file

  1. From the File menu, click Open or Restore Company.
  2. Browse the location of the company file. For example, if your company file is mapped to drive E, look for Company Files Name (E:) in the list.
    Note: If necessary, double-click the appropriate folders until you see the company file, which has a .qbw file name extension. Select the company file from the list and click Open
  3. If prompted, enter your user name and password.

Optional: Turn Password Protected Sharing Off

Windows will ask for a network password if Password Protected Sharing is turned On. If this happens, you can either log in using the network password or turn this feature off.

To turn Password Protected Sharing Off:

  1. Open the Control Panel, choose Network and Sharing Center and click Change advanced sharing settings.
  2. Expand the Profile type that you are currently using.
  3. Under the Password protected sharing section, select Turn off password protected sharing.
  4. Click Save changes.
  5. Do this process on Server or Host computer and all the workstation that needs to access the file over the network.

Other Articles To Try